Orientation Programs

The Office of Academic and Advising Services serves traditional, undergraduate students on the Mercer-Macon campus.  Mercer University provides entering students with a comprehensive orientation program designed to ease the transition from high school to college or from another institution to Mercer University.  New Student Programs offers new students information on academic policies and procedures, as well as campus resources and services.

2021 Orientation Dates

Spring Bear Beginnings>> for all new students beginning in spring semester:
  • Tuesday, January 5 - Wednesday, January 6, 2021(prior to classes beginning on Thursday, January 7)
May Orientation>> for all new students beginning in the summer terms (Virtual):
  • Friday, May 22, 2021, from 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Summer Orientation>> for all new first-year students beginning in the fall semester (Virtual):
  • Session #1: Friday, June 18, 2021, from 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Session #2: Monday, June 21, 2021, from 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Session #3: Wednesday, June 23, 2021, from 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Session #4: Friday, June 25, 2021, from 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Session #5: Monday, June 28, 2021, from 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Session #6: Wednesday, June 30, 2021, from 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Transfer Orientation>> for all new transfer students beginning in the fall semester (Virtual):
  • Friday, July 30, 2021, from 8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Opening Days>> for all new first-year students beginning in the fall semester:
  • Thursday, August 19 - Friday, August 20, 2021
Bear Beginnings>> a mandatory, fall orientation program for all new first-year students:
  • Saturday, August 21 - Monday, August 23, 2021 (prior to classes beginning on Tuesday, August 24)
Transfer Check-In>> a check-in for all new transfer students beginning in the fall semester:
  • Monday, August 23, 2021, from 8:00 a.m. to 8:30 a.m.
  • Additional option to partake in morning and afternoon activities, from 8:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.